4 more days!

Well, FOUR days left in the MTC! It’s wild! I can’t believe that I am leaving here! It is crazy how long we have been here, yet…sometimes it feels like I don’t know any more than I knew the second week. (However, I know that is false!) We have been doing a lot of review, and a lot of lasts! It’s crazy how much we have gone over in 9 weeks and how much I have (and have not) retained. It’s wild! Today has been busy with packing an dgetting things done that I need to do before we leave. I have almost everything packed and including my book weight I think both of my bags are under 40 pounds! I am stoked! That means less for me to carry and lug around next week while I go to the mission home and then to wherever I end up serving! SO that’s cool. Never thought that day would come. I thought that I would be in the MTC forever!! Hahah!! I see Emily Braithwaite all the time and I LOVE that. It makes me so happy to see people I know because it’s just a familiar happiness and comfort. It’s just great. I lvoe her! And her speaking japanese is so cool! 

This week was mission conference, so that was LONG…plus it was fast sunday. It’s basically stake conference. and it was a good time I loved hearing everything and I love hearing talks but some days I just am so tired of sitting all day. It gets exhausting.

 
Sunday night. AWESOME devotional by Chad Lewis. Seriously. Like one of the best devotionals that I have heard in these 8.2 weeks! It was PHENOMENAL. He has written a book too…so yeah. Look that up. He just was real and made a lot of sense and always was like I have done this I kNOW it worls and I have seen it in my life! He talked to us about the choices that we are making and reminded us that the choices that we make today will never go away. He also reminded us that we will always be a missionary. I will not alway swear a name badge, but I will always be a missionary, if I make that choice to be. I need to not go back to being the same old Rebekah since before the mission I need to be a new and improved Rebekah that is always serving and showing love to those around me. I Know what is right and wrong and I know that little decisions affect my life. Also, another great point that he made was that the things that we do over and over and over here are so that we can do them without thinking about it once we get out into the field. THere are so many repetetive things that happen that we need to remember to still do. Sometimes I know at least I check out when we are doing dumb little things that I think, “Uh we do this every day…I know how to do this” I need to remember that I won’t be in a bubble of the MTC with teachers reminding me of what to do so when I get out into the field… (Wedesday)…I need to be ready to react in a way that I have thought about! He also talked about a time that he and some othjer pro football players hiked mt kilimanjaro with some “warriors” –veterans, and how hard it was but they kept going. We are warriors too and we need to not give up no matter what. We cannot give up. The lord WILL help us! NO MATTER WHAT! 

We have been talking a lot about contacting and being in the mission lately because…well. we are leaving here… haha. and we have been talking a lot about being a missionary and BEING the message. I thought that was so interesting. We need to be the message because that is why people will first stop to listen. They will continue to listen because of curiosity, the spirit, or other reasons, but: Would I want to stop and talk to me on the street if I were a Russian person and I saw me out contacting?” (I hope that makes sense). It is so true though! Just like I used to always want to make sure my FHE lessons were something that I would wan tto come to, I need to be sure to present my message in a way that people will want to listen to. It is really important because I don’t wnat someone that could be a “golden investigator” to miss out on the gospel because I was too  boring and robotic about it. It is SO important htat we TEACH PEOPLE NOT LESSONS. I hear that ALL the time. Hah. Yay. We have also been talking a lot about success as a missionary. I know that I vcan be successful….bhut How!??? My attitude. Do I have a good attitude about the work> Do I want to share the gospel today? Am I going to keep contacting even when the last two hours have been -10 and every person has said no? Yes. I will. Because being successful depends on my attitude and I want to be successful and so I want to have a good attitude. That is all it takes. Simple as that. Also, in 2 Ne 2:26 it talks about acting and not being acted upon/. That means that I have to act and decide how I would like to feel and not be acted upon and let someone make my decisions for me. It is up to me. What I want to feel, how I want to act, how I want my life to be. So, I can and will be a successful missionary because I will act. I will decide. It is my choice!

 
I cna’t believe that two months of my mission are gone. It is crazy. I love this gospel. I am so grateful for the plan of salvation. I am sograteful that families can live together forever. I am so grateful for the atonement of my savior, jesus christ, and that he went through every emotion that I feel. I know that he can help us when we feel  loss and when we feel frustration or confusion or hurt. I know that. i ahve felt his love all throughout my life. I know that he lvoes me. I love him and am so grateful for him. I am so grateful that I can talk to my father in heaven at any time and that he listens to me. I am so grateful for the Holy Ghost and the prom,ptiogs that I can feel and the comfort that I can geel through him. I love my family and I am so thankful for them!!!! 

MUCH LOVE, 
SISTER SCHAFF 
сестра шафф

Leave a Reply

