Darkness Exists In the World

This is the first week that I have gone to bed and there has been slight darkness out! We still have all the blinds closed because there is light, but it was kinda dark! So weird. I forget that most people in the world go to sleep in the dark…. what a weird concept. Four months ago I did that too! Hahaha. 

 
Well, this week has been good, but kind of slow! Paulina did not get baptized, although she met with the bishop yesterday and he said, she is ready, she just needs to get baptized! (This is the same bishop that normally tells people to wait, so I really feel like that means even more from him). It is cool because she really has such a testimony and I guess she brought her son to a meeting with the sisters last week! That is so cool. Plus, she told her family about her decision. Before, she had told us that she wanted to keep it a secret (we discouraged that) because her family is VERY Russian Orthodox and her brother is a priest, but she told her parents! She is wonderful! I love seeing her at church every Sunday! The Center sisters said that she will get baptized this saturday or next saturday! So, that is exciting! I am praying that we will have at least one investigator by then so that I can go! 
 
This week has been an interesting one. It is kind of hard when you are serving with people who don’t have much faith or drive. There are missionaries that we serve with here that really are having a hard time. I get scared that one day I might be like that, and I pray that I won’t. I don’t ever want to think that some number is too high, and that having baptismal dates is this crazy thought. It isn’t. All these things are entirely possible. We currently have zero investigators, which is kind of frustrating, and I wish we had some, but we will. There are so many people in this city that really are ready. We talk to people every day and there are so many that I am sure if we can get meetings with will be so open and accepting. However, I know that we are out there working, trying to find, and we are now starting to meet with the members this week more because we have lots of time, and it will be important to have relationships with them. I wish I knew how to help inspire peple and help them have the drive to act more, and really do everything that they can to find people. I am trying to just be an example. I really am. 
 
We are meeting with lots of members lately and trying to devlop relationships with them because neither me or my companion know really anyone in the ward. I feel like that through them we will be able to get things done. There have to be part member families and people that have friends that we can teach. Oh, on that note, we were out less-active-hunting and we had gone to four places, this was the last on our list, and people had either not been home or not wanted the missionaries and this inactive was not home, but her son was! He is probable 25? maybe, and not a member, we asked if he had ever read the book of Mormon, he said yes, and we asked if he would be interested in meeting with the missionaries and learning more, and he said YES! So, we will be taking another member over there this week to meet with him. Already, there is someone that has such great potential. Maybe through him, his mom will come back to activity. There is so much to be done and so many people to help! 
 
Also, men in america need to step it up! Bring flowers home more often. Bring your girlfriend, wife, daughter, mom, someone flowers! It is not a marriage proposal! Don’t be embarrassed to have flowers. Men here walk around with flowers and you see them giving them to people all the time and they are so happy! It is such a nice gesture and who doesn’t love receiving flowers! (Granted there are flower ladies lined up on the streets here, but still!) 
 
I have a testimony that the Lord helps things to happen for a reason every time.I know this. There is always something going on every day that the Lord has done to help or challenge me. I know that these things are for my good, and even though this transfer, place, and companion is not my first choice, I know that it is the Lords choice for me. I know that I am learning daily, and that there are so many lessons yet to be learned for me here. I know that Jesus Christ is our savior, and I know that He understands everything that we are going through. I am so grateful that I have Him to go to during days, hours, and minutes of frustration and lnliness and confusion. I know that He will always answer me and that He knows what I need and can give me the comfort that I need. I am so grateful to be here in the Russia St Petersburg Mission ! I know that this is where I need to be right now and that this is what I need to be doing. I know that this is such a good start for me for the rest of my life and will help me to become who heavenly father wants me to be. 
 
 
I love you and am praying for you! I am so grateful for the closeness that this gospel gives people! 

Love, 

Sister Schaff 
 
Trying to FORGET MYSELF and go to work. That is the goal for this week. And to not eat chocolate…this whole transfer. 2 weeks down four to go! ahhh. 
xoxoxxo
Leave a Reply

